I’m working on finding a potential dog to owner-train. A nearby Doberman rescue called me back today, and although they do not have any candidates for me, they had recently placed a rescued dog with a disabled woman to train as a SD. This was encouraging to hear, but what was more encouraging is that the owner of the rescue was willing to forward my information to the other rescues she is connected with in order to find a qualifying dog for my needs.

I’m so happy to have spoken with her. I hope that, in God’s timing, a good candidate can be found. If the rescues don’t pan out, PAD has also offered to help with dog selection- pending my acceptance into their program. I’m still waiting to hear back from PAD, I do know that all of my referral letters have made it into the mail. I don’t know much else.

I’m also working on creating my résumé in order to apply for jobs as my current work situation has fallen through. I want to be able to fund this service dog on my own without any outside help- that is my goal. If I eventually do need help I will ask for it. For now I will bide my time.

